Rebate clock: the federal battery discount drops ~$595 on a 13.5 kWh install on 1 Jan 2027.63d:13h:06m:26sCheck yours before the drop
QLD VPPs · 2026

Virtual Power Plants in QLD.

We track 6 programs open to Queensland households: 5 battery VPPs and 1 wholesale-price battery trading plan. Tesla Energy Plan ended on 30 September 2025. We checked each program's terms on its operator's own page between 28 and 29 September 2026. The table and cards below show what each one pays and what it asks of your battery.

Most retail VPPs in Queensland are open only on the Energex network in south-east QLD. Regional Queensland (the Ergon network) has fewer retail options. The federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program requires a battery to be technically capable of joining a VPP, but joining one isn't required.

457,439 batteries installed under the federal program, year one
1 in 17 Aussie homes now have one
SAA-accredited installers only
$0 · no obligation

Battery figures: Clean Energy Regulator data, to 1 July 2026; "1 in 17" is derived from it.

QLD programs at a glance

ProgramTypeStatusSolar neededLock-in
GloBird ZEROHERO VPP Battery VPP Open to new customers GloBird's VPP terms define your system as your battery plus your solar system, so solar is assumed No lock-in contracts; you can opt in or out any time.
AGL Virtual Power Plant Battery VPP Open to new customers Not stated No lock-in is stated for the VPP; check AGL's VPP terms and conditions before joining.
Origin Loop Battery VPP Open to new customers At least 5 kW of operational solar No lock-in contract; you can leave at any time.
Amber SmartShift Wholesale-price battery trading Open to new customers Not stated No penalties for switching SmartShift off.
Diamond Energy WATTBANK VPP Battery VPP Open to new customers At least 5 kW of solar panels (DC) and a 3 kW inverter No lock-in contract and no exit fees; you can cancel at any time.
ENGIE VPP (Battery Sharing Rewards Network) Battery VPP Open to new customers A working solar system with a 5-15 kW inverter An ongoing contract; ENGIE's VPP page states no exit fee. Check the VPP special conditions before joining.

QLD VPP and battery programs

GloBird ZEROHERO VPP

GloBird Energy · Battery VPP · Open to new customers
  • Free grid charging: 3 hours a day
  • ZEROHERO credit: $1 a day, when you avoid grid usage between 6pm and 9pm local time
  • Evening battery exports: Up to 10c per kWh, for up to 15 kWh a day exported between 6pm and 9pm; the exact rate is in your plan's Energy Fact Sheet
  • Critical peak (ZEROLIMIT add-on): Up to $1 per kWh, during price spikes
  • Fees: Sign-up and ongoing fees: None, per GloBird

ZEROHERO is GloBird's battery plan: a $1/day credit when you avoid grid power from 6 to 9pm, and up to 10c/kWh for up to 15 kWh a day of battery exports in that window. The optional VPP add-on lets GloBird run your battery remotely.

Queensland availability is the Energex region (south-east QLD) only.

Lock-in: No lock-in contracts; you can opt in or out any time.

GloBird ZEROHERO VPP: full terms and eligible batteries →

AGL Virtual Power Plant

AGL · Battery VPP · Open to new customers
  • Welcome credit: $200
  • Ongoing credit: $80 a year, a $20 bill credit every quarter
  • Event credit: $1 per kWh, for every kWh your battery charges from or discharges to the grid during VPP events, up to 250 kWh a year, paid at the end of each 12-month period

AGL's bring-your-own-battery VPP: AGL can use your battery during VPP events in exchange for a welcome credit, quarterly bill credits and a per-kWh event credit.

Lock-in: No lock-in is stated for the VPP; check AGL's VPP terms and conditions before joining.

AGL Virtual Power Plant: full terms and eligible batteries →

Origin Loop

Origin Energy · Battery VPP · Open to new customers
  • Sign-up bonus: $200, credited to your Origin electricity account (incl. GST)
  • Event credit: $1 per kWh, for energy exported to the grid during Loop events, up to 200 kWh a year

Origin's VPP: Origin can draw up to 200 kWh a year from your battery during Loop events and pays $1 for each kWh, on top of a $200 sign-up bonus and your normal feed-in tariff.

Lock-in: No lock-in contract; you can leave at any time.

Origin Loop: full terms and eligible batteries →

Amber SmartShift

Amber Electric · Wholesale-price battery trading · Open to new customers
  • Export earnings: Wholesale price, exports are paid at the wholesale spot price, which moves every five minutes and can go negative
  • Fees: Membership: $25 a month

Amber passes wholesale electricity prices straight through to you. SmartShift automatically charges your battery when prices are low and exports when they're high.

Queensland availability is south-east QLD only.

Lock-in: No penalties for switching SmartShift off.

Amber SmartShift: full terms and eligible batteries →

Diamond Energy WATTBANK VPP

Diamond Energy · Battery VPP · Open to new customers
  • WATTBANK VPP credit: $250 to $450 a year, set by your solar, battery and inverter size: $250 (up to 7 kW solar, 10 kWh battery, 5 kW inverter), $275, $350, or $450 (up to 18 kW solar, 20 kWh battery, 15 kW inverter); incl. GST
  • Battery usage credit: 30c per kWh, for energy exported to the grid between 6pm and 8am (incl. GST)
  • Fees: Establishment fee: $68, incl. GST; waived for new systems financed with Plenti

Diamond Energy's VPP pays a yearly credit of $250 to $450, depending on your system's size, plus 30c/kWh for battery exports between 6pm and 8am. There's a $68 establishment fee and no exit fee.

Queensland availability is the Energex network only.

Lock-in: No lock-in contract and no exit fees; you can cancel at any time.

Diamond Energy WATTBANK VPP: full terms and eligible batteries →

ENGIE VPP (Battery Sharing Rewards Network)

ENGIE · Battery VPP · Open to new customers
  • Sign-up credit: Shown after ENGIE's eligibility check, ENGIE shows the amount only once you've checked eligibility
  • Monthly credit: Shown after ENGIE's eligibility check, paid every month you're in the VPP, whether or not ENGIE uses your battery

ENGIE's VPP pays a sign-up credit and a monthly bill credit, even in months it doesn't use your battery. In return it can charge, discharge or hold up to 400 kWh in your battery over any 12 months. It replaced the retired Simply Energy VPP.

Lock-in: An ongoing contract; ENGIE's VPP page states no exit fee. Check the VPP special conditions before joining.

ENGIE VPP (Battery Sharing Rewards Network): full terms and eligible batteries →

Programs that have ended

  • Tesla Energy Plan (Tesla) ended on 30 September 2025 for all customers. Its page says what happened and which open programs take the same battery.

Notes specific to Queensland

The Queensland Battery Booster rebate has closed. Check each program's page for which networks it covers.

VPP credits and the QLD feed-in tariff

A VPP pays on top of, or instead of, what your retail plan pays for exports. Before you join, check four things on the program page: how much of your battery the operator keeps in reserve for you, any cap on event energy a year, whether there's a lock-in, and whether you keep your plan's feed-in tariff. Then set that against the QLD feed-in tariff you'd earn exporting the same energy yourself.

Checking whether a battery suits a particular program? The VPP battery compatibility table lists every battery each program names.

Common questions

What VPP programs are available in Queensland?

As checked between 28 and 29 September 2026: GloBird ZEROHERO VPP (GloBird Energy), battery VPP, open to new customers; AGL Virtual Power Plant (AGL), battery VPP, open to new customers; Origin Loop (Origin Energy), battery VPP, open to new customers; Amber SmartShift (Amber Electric), wholesale-price battery trading plan, open to new customers; Diamond Energy WATTBANK VPP (Diamond Energy), battery VPP, open to new customers; ENGIE VPP (Battery Sharing Rewards Network) (ENGIE), battery VPP, open to new customers. Tesla Energy Plan ended on 30 September 2025.

How much do VPPs pay in Queensland?

It depends on the program. Here's what each open program pays, as checked between 28 and 29 September 2026: GloBird ZEROHERO VPP (Free grid charging: 3 hours a day; ZEROHERO credit: $1 a day, when you avoid grid usage between 6pm and 9pm local time; Evening battery exports: Up to 10c per kWh, for up to 15 kWh a day exported between 6pm and 9pm; the exact rate is in your plan's Energy Fact Sheet; Critical peak (ZEROLIMIT add-on): Up to $1 per kWh, during price spikes; fees: Sign-up and ongoing fees: None, per GloBird). AGL Virtual Power Plant (Welcome credit: $200; Ongoing credit: $80 a year, a $20 bill credit every quarter; Event credit: $1 per kWh, for every kWh your battery charges from or discharges to the grid during VPP events, up to 250 kWh a year, paid at the end of each 12-month period). Origin Loop (Sign-up bonus: $200, credited to your Origin electricity account (incl. GST); Event credit: $1 per kWh, for energy exported to the grid during Loop events, up to 200 kWh a year). Amber SmartShift (Export earnings: Wholesale price, exports are paid at the wholesale spot price, which moves every five minutes and can go negative; fees: Membership: $25 a month). Diamond Energy WATTBANK VPP (WATTBANK VPP credit: $250 to $450 a year, set by your solar, battery and inverter size: $250 (up to 7 kW solar, 10 kWh battery, 5 kW inverter), $275, $350, or $450 (up to 18 kW solar, 20 kWh battery, 15 kW inverter); incl. GST; Battery usage credit: 30c per kWh, for energy exported to the grid between 6pm and 8am (incl. GST); fees: Establishment fee: $68, incl. GST; waived for new systems financed with Plenti). ENGIE VPP (Battery Sharing Rewards Network) (Sign-up credit: Shown after ENGIE's eligibility check, ENGIE shows the amount only once you've checked eligibility; Monthly credit: Shown after ENGIE's eligibility check, paid every month you're in the VPP, whether or not ENGIE uses your battery).

Do I need to switch retailers to join a VPP in QLD?

For the programs listed here, yes: GloBird ZEROHERO VPP requires you to be a GloBird Energy customer, AGL Virtual Power Plant requires you to be a AGL customer, Origin Loop requires you to be a Origin Energy customer, Amber SmartShift requires you to be a Amber Electric customer, Diamond Energy WATTBANK VPP requires you to be a Diamond Energy customer and ENGIE VPP (Battery Sharing Rewards Network) requires you to be a ENGIE customer.

Does QLD require VPP enrolment for the federal battery rebate?

No. The federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program requires your battery to be VPP-capable, meaning it can support enrolment, but actual enrolment is optional. You can claim the rebate and never join a VPP.

See your exact rebate 30 sec · free · no obligation