WA programs at a glance
| Program | Type | Status | Solar needed | Lock-in |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plico VPP | Battery VPP | Open to new customers | Not stated | Plico's VPP pages don't state a contract term; ask Plico before you join. |
| Synergy Battery Rewards | Battery VPP | Open to new customers | Not stated | Two-year term. |
WA VPP and battery programs
Plico VPP
- Event export payment: 3x your tariff, for energy exported during VPP events. Plico states a minimum of 97c/kWh on its WA VPP page and 99c/kWh on its join page
- Fees: Sign-up and ongoing fees: None, per Plico
An independent WA VPP: Plico pays three times your electricity tariff for energy your battery exports during VPP events, with no sign-up or ongoing fees. You stay with Synergy for your electricity.
Synergy customers only (Plico requires you to stay on a Synergy plan).
Synergy Battery Rewards
- Event export credit: 70c per kWh, for every kWh exported to the grid during activation events
Synergy's VPP in WA: during activation events your battery exports automatically and Synergy pays 70c for every kWh it sends to the grid. It's currently only for customers installing a battery through the WA Residential Battery Scheme.
Synergy customers on the South West Interconnected System.
Synergy Battery Rewards: full terms and eligible batteries →
Notes specific to Western Australia
The WA Residential Battery Scheme pays $130 per kWh of storage up to $1,300 for Synergy customers and $380 per kWh up to $3,800 for Horizon Power customers, for batteries with at least 5 kWh usable capacity on the Synergy or Horizon Power supported list.
VPP credits and the WA feed-in tariff
A VPP pays on top of, or instead of, what your retail plan pays for exports. Before you join, check four things on the program page: how much of your battery the operator keeps in reserve for you, any cap on event energy a year, whether there's a lock-in, and whether you keep your plan's feed-in tariff. Then set that against the WA feed-in tariff you'd earn exporting the same energy yourself.
Checking whether a battery suits a particular program? The VPP battery compatibility table lists every battery each program names.
Common questions
What VPP programs are available in Western Australia?
As checked on 29 September 2026: Plico VPP (Plico Energy), battery VPP, open to new customers; Synergy Battery Rewards (Synergy), battery VPP, open to new customers.
How much do VPPs pay in Western Australia?
It depends on the program. Here's what each open program pays, as checked on 29 September 2026: Plico VPP (Event export payment: 3x your tariff, for energy exported during VPP events. Plico states a minimum of 97c/kWh on its WA VPP page and 99c/kWh on its join page; fees: Sign-up and ongoing fees: None, per Plico). Synergy Battery Rewards (Event export credit: 70c per kWh, for every kWh exported to the grid during activation events).
Do I need to switch retailers to join a VPP in WA?
For the programs listed here, yes: Synergy Battery Rewards requires you to be a Synergy customer.
Does WA require VPP enrolment for the federal battery rebate?
No. The federal Cheaper Home Batteries Program requires your battery to be VPP-capable, meaning it can support enrolment, but actual enrolment is optional. You can claim the rebate and never join a VPP.